It was a really bad idea to use slides in that class

I gave a presentation in the Statistical Consulting course at UW–Madison today. I’ve done so a number of times in the past 6 years. Until today, I’d just spoken informally from a few pages of notes. (Earlier this year, I wrote up those notes as a blog post.)

This year, just 45 min before the class, I thought I’d quickly create some slides to present. I thought it’d be an interesting “experiment” (not in the formal sense):

The outcome was pretty clear: It was easy to create a bunch of bullet-point-based slides. They look nice. (See the pdf here; source here.)

But, the slides themselves worse than useless: Unnecessary, and they interfered with the desired informal nature of the discussion.

I won’t be using those slides again. I’ll go back to just talking from notes.

Fortunately, the students were really good and involved and asked great questions, anyway. So no real harm done.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

