What a waste of paper

A university press asked me to review a book manuscript, and the author “has asked that we not use electronic copies.” So they’re going to send me a hard copy.

My response: “If you only give me a paper copy, I’m going to just scan it and toss the paper. That seems like a waste of time (and paper and postage).”

I should probably have said, “Then forget it.”

Their response included, “What you do with it when it arrives I am just going to take a hear-no-evil approach to.”

Tags: ,

5 Responses to “What a waste of paper”

  1. S Says:

    “What you do with it when it arrives I am just going to take a hear-no-evil approach to.”

    Sounds to me like an open invitation to scan it and upload it to every filesharing site this side of Antarctica.

  2. Andrew Gelman Says:

    Karl:

    Call me a polluter, but I don’t like to send around electronic copies, especially of preliminary versions of a book. I really really don’t want incomplete and uncorrected copies of my new books floating around on the web.

    • Karl Broman Says:

      I wouldn’t think that reviewers would be a very common source of piracy. And anyway, I’ve scanned the manuscript and could now send it floating off just as easily as if the publisher had provided me with a PDF.

  3. Carmela Says:

    Awesome post.

Leave a Reply

