Emacs key bindings in MS Word

Collaboration on grant proposals has forced me to spend a lot of time writing in MS Word lately. I find my self typing emacs key strokes and then getting annoyed when I have to move my hand over to the arrow keys. (It’s maybe not as bad as typing Markdown marks within a LaTeX document, which I’ve also been doing.)

A google search on the title of this post got me to this post. I should have looked before.

Following that suggestion, I was able to get these:

C-b – CharLeft
C-f – CharRight
C-e – EndOfLine
C-p – LineUp
C-n – LineDown
C-a – StartOfLine
C-v – PageDown

I can’t figure out how to have M-v for PageUp, though, because M-v seems permanently stuck to “√”.

The procedure, in MS Word 2011 for Mac, is:

  1. Tools → Customize Keyboard
  2. Select “All Commands” under “Categories:”
  3. Select the command (e.g., RightChar) under “Commands:”
  4. Press the keyboard shortcut in the “Press new keyboard shortcut” box
  5. Click the Assign button
  6. Repeat for the other commands you want
  7. Click OK

I needed two more, C-d and C-k; it took me a while to figure out how to do it, as there didn’t seem to be any built-in commands. But you can just record a macro. I created these:

C-d – [DeleteCharacter] (as a macro)
C-k – [KillLine] (as a macro)

Here’s the procedure, in MS Word 2011 for Mac.

  1. Tools → Macros → Record Macro
  2. Give it a name with no spaces
  3. Click the keyboard button to assign a keystroke to it
  4. Select OK
  5. Type the set of key strokes
  6. Tools → Macros → Stop Recording

Womacs is a really extensive set of Visual Basic macros that looks really useful, but I was getting Visual Basic errors and didn’t want to spend any more time on it; grants to write…

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Emacs key bindings in MS Word”

  1. jshoyer Says:

    For MS Word 2010 on Windows, one goes to File–>Options–>Customize ribbon, click Keyboard Shortcuts: Customize. (As in Mac, commands and easiest to find under ‘All commands’.) For me, WordLeft and WordRight are key. The emacs keybindings for those are not previously assigned in Windows, while in Mac they are ƒ and ∫ — the same problem you have with √. It sounds like altering ~/Library/KeyBindings/ could solve this.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 92 other followers